Honey West

Honey West Cast

Series Description
The Honey West TV show was a 30 minute private detective drama series on ABC about a woman who was both a very attractive lady and also a very tough investigator. Her father died and left her his high-tech detective agency. With the assistance of her fellow P.I., Sam Bolt, Honey never failed to solve even the most difficult cases!

Honey West Cast

Anne Francis .... Honey West
John Ericson .... Sam Bolt
Irene Hervey .... Aunt Meg
Bruce .... Bruce the Ocelot

Honey West Trivia

The character Honey West first appeared in a series of novels published in the 1950s and 60s. Then the character appeared on an episode of the series, "Burke's Law" and less than five months later this "TV spin-off series" was on the air!

Honey West staked out a claim on television history. It featured the first female detective as the main character on a TV series. There had been other female detectives but they were always worked under a male detective or had a role secondary to a male character. Honey West was the owner of her agency and the definite star of the show. The series opened the door for other actresses to play lead detective roles such as, "The Girl from U.N.C.L.E.", "Get Christie Love", "Police Woman", and "Cagney and Lacey".

Anne Francis won a Golden Globe award in 1966 in the "Best Female TV Star" category for her role as Honey West. That same year she was also nominated for an Emmy in the "Outstanding Continued Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Dramatic Series" but she lost the Emmy to Barbara Stanwyck for her role on, "The Big Valley".

Honey West was broadcast Friday nights on ABC from 9:00 to 9:30PM eastern. It was on the air right after "The Addams Family" and right before "Peyton Place". Honey West wasn't doing too bad at the beginning of its only season. It was in nineteenth place in the Nielsen ratings but its hugely popular competition on CBS was, "Gomer Pyle, U.S.M.C." and that doomed Honey West to failure!

A couple of other things that hurt the show were poor plotlines and poor production. When Honey West was involved in a fight scene, it was often obvious that a male "double" with a blonde wig was standing in for her!

Episodes List With Original Air Dates

Pilot Episode

Who Killed the Jackpot? (On the series, "Burke's Law") (4/21/1965)

The First And Only Season

  1. The Swingin' Mrs. Jones (9/17/1965)
  2. The Owl and the Eye (9/24/1965)
  3. The Abominable Snowman (10/1/1965)
  4. A Matter of Wife and Death (10/8/1965)
  5. Live a Little, Kill a Little (10/15/1965)
  6. Whatever Lola Wants.... (10/22/1965)
  7. The Princess and the Paupers (10/29/1965)
  8. In the Bag (11/5/1965)
  9. The Flame and the Pussycat (11/12/1965)
  10. A Neat Little Package (11/19/1965)
  11. A Stitch in Crime (11/26/1965)
  12. A Million Bucks in Anybody's Language (12/3/1965)
  13. The Gray Lady (12/10/1965)
  14. Invitation to Limbo (12/17/1965)
  15. Rockabye the Hard Way (12/24/1965)
  16. A Nice Little Till to Tap (12/31/1965)
  17. How Brillig, O, Beamish Boy (1/7/1966)
  18. King of the Mountain (1/14/1966)
  19. It's Earlier Than You Think (1/21/1966)
  20. The Perfect Un-Crime (1/28/1966)
  21. Like Visions and Omens and All That Jazz (2/4/1966)
  22. Don't Look Now, But Isn't That Me (2/11/1966)
  23. Come to Me, My Litigation Baby (2/18/1966)
  24. Slay, Gypsy, Slay (2/25/1966)
  25. The Fun-Fun Killer (3/4/1966)
  26. Pop Goes the Easel (3/11/1966)
  27. Little Green Robin Hood (3/18/1966)
  28. Just the Bear Facts Ma'am (3/25/1966)
  29. There's a Long, Long, Fuse A'Burning (4/1/1966)
  30. An Eerie, Airy, Thing (4/8/1966)

Find Thousands of
Your Favorite Shows
At Our

Home Page

Thank you for visiting our Honey West TV show page!

Copyright © 1997-Present CrazyAboutTV.com
All rights reserved